Inspirational

If it doesn’t help me grow, it has to go.

fitzgerald

It has taken me a divorce, remarriage and struggling financially for just about 3 years for me to finally pinpoint and recognize deep seated feelings of unrest and their true origin.

I know down to my soul that I am the type of person that needs to be challenged every day. I need to feel like I matter and I need to see that the work I do, matters.

When I am inspired and being pushed to grow and develop into a better person passionately, I am happy. When I am not inspired or challenged to grow and learn new things, I feel unfulfilled and depressed.

f scott againBecoming a Beachbody Coach (“for the discount”, originally) has shown me so much about myself over the last 5 months; things that I had slowly forgotten were there over the last decade or so after college.  It’s as if my career and life choices since 2005 have made me forget who I really am and that has been a shocking realization. Thank goodness I’ve been practicing self care, or I would be elbow-deep in cookie dough and NOT writing this blog.

With every pound that I have lost, and with every person that I have helped as a coach, it’s as if this fog that has been clouding my vision for so very long is finally lifting. I didn’t even realize I was living in a fog until things around me just suddenly began coming into focus. With a clearer view of my life and where I am (or rather, where I am not in some aspects), I’m finally motivated to avidly pursue things that will challenge my personal, organizational and business life in a way that I just was not before.

I’m learning what “personal development” really means to me.  The simplest definition? If it doesn’t help me grow, it has to go.

I am at a point in my life that I am willing to trade what is “safe” for an opportunity to learn and grow into so much more than I ever thought I could be. The coaching experience is a perfect incubator for personal development and to run with it, much to the bewilderment of my friends and family, is the ultimate test of who I am as a person.

I am up for the challenge. I really am. I feel strong. I feel proud.

Leave a Reply

